National Leadership Academy

The American Association for Agricultural Education is pleased to announce the call for applications for its new AAAE Leadership Academy.


  • The purpose of the Academy is to develop a cadre of AAAE members who are motivated and prepared to provide effective leadership in officer, committee, and special projects roles within the society.
  • A secondary purpose is to increase the interest and readiness of AAAE members for formal leadership roles within academic institutions.


  • Faculty members in years 6-12 in full-time, tenure-track or non-tenure- track positions are eligible to apply.
  • Applicants must have been an active member of AAAE for at least the last three years.
  • Diversity in gender, ethnicity, academic specialization, institutional size and type, and geographical region will be sought.
  • The anticipated cohort size is 15-18 faculty members.

The Experience

  • The program will begin with a full-day session on Monday, May 20, 2019, in conjunction with the AAAE National Conference in Des Moines, IA.
  • Four, one-hour online sessions (via Zoom) will be held the following September, November, January, and March.
  • The final session for the 2019-2020 cohort will be held on Monday, May 18, preceding the AAAE National Conference in 2020.
  • A variety of speakers from around the nation will engage participants in the following topics: understanding self and others as a leader, exemplary leadership practices, leading within AAAE, leading through delegation, communicating effectively as a leader, developing and leading effective teams, critical conversations and courageous leadership, leading and managing change, the importance of mindset and resilience in leadership, and developing a personal mission statement.
  • Each participant will be paired with an AAAE Fellow who will serve as his/her mentor.


  • AAAE has allocated funds to cover a portion of the costs for the Academy.
  • Participants must pay a $300 fee and cover all travel expenses associated with attending the face-to-face sessions in May 2019 and May 2020.
  • All meals, materials, books, and assessments will be covered by participant fees and AAAE funds.
  • Selected participants will be invoiced for the participation fee.


Applications for the 2019-2020 AAAE Leadership Academy must be submitted to Ed Osborne at no later than midnight on January 25, 2019.

Applicants will be notified of their acceptance into the Academy by March 1, 2019.

Participants accepted into the Academy must agree to participate in all six Academy sessions (two face-to-face sessions and four online sessions via Zoom).

Additional Information

For additional information, contact Ed Osborne by email ( or by phone (352-273-2613).

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software